In Residence

The Govett-Brewster Art Gallery / Len Lye Centre's Artist Residency Programme 2020

Update: The Govett-Brewster Art Gallery / Len Lye Centre is pleased to announce our 2020 Artists ‘In Residence’.


Sorawit Songsataya

Sorawit Songsataya’s video-installation practice explores the many tangents that connect and redefine our understandings of subjectivity and ecology. Critical reviews and essays on the artist’s work have been published in Matter Journal, Art News New Zealand, Art and Australia, Art New Zealand and Artnews America.

Winner of the Molly Morpeth Canaday Award 3D (2020) and National Contemporary Art Award (2016), Songsataya has held artist residencies with Enjoy Contemporary Art Space, Wellington; McCahon House, Auckland; and the International Artists Studio Program, Stockholm.

Recent exhibitions include The Interior, Auckland Art Gallery (2019); Offspring of Rain, Enjoy Contemporary Art Space (2019); Jupiter, Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery (2019); Soon Enough: Art in Action, Tensta Konsthall (2018).

Songsataya is based in Pōneke Wellington.


Meg Porteous

Meg Porteous is a Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland-based artist working primarily in photography and film, employing a mix of analogue and digital processes. Her practice considers common tropes in photography’s history - in particular documentary, surveillance and self-portraiture - focusing on the tension between truth and fiction that exists in the medium. 

Porteous holds a BFA (Photography) from Ilam School of Fine Arts, University of Canterbury and a MFA from Elam School of Fine Arts, The University of Auckland. Her recent exhibitions include Uncomfortable Silence, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū (2020); Tears in rain, Hopkinson Mossman (2019); ʎʇǝıɔos, Mercy Pictures (2019); Tilt, Hopkinson Mossman (2018).


Yona Lee

Yona Lee’s practice includes sculptural objects and installations that combine elaborate linear structures of stainless steel tubing with everyday objects of urban and domestic spaces. The work leaves itself open to various interpretations: structure or system, authoritarian or utopian, utilitarian or pointless.

Currently the subject of a solo exhibition at the Dunedin Public Art Gallery, Lee has also held solo exhibitions at Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney and City Gallery Wellington. 

Her work has been included in large-scale thematic exhibitions like the 15th Lyon Contemporary Art Biennale, France; and Changwon Sculpture Biennale, South Korea.

Lee lives and works in Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland.


Responding to the current conditions in New Zealand, this year’s residencies will take place in the artists’ own studios or homes over a four-week period.

Artworks created during the month-long residencies will be presented on digital platforms by the Gallery over the next six months. Follow Govett Brewster on Instagram, look out on our website or sign up to email updates to keep up-to-date as we present the In Residence artworks.


This project is supported by Creative New Zealand and NPDC.


The Govett-Brewster Art Gallery/Len Lye Centre runs three residency programmes which reflect upon the value that guest artists and film curators bring to the life of a contemporary art museum, and the role we play in enriching and developing the arts.

Artist in Residence

Since 1992, the Govett-Brewster has hosted artist residencies for New Zealand and Pacific artists, representative of a diverse range of practices within contemporary art. The New Zealand Artist in Residence runs yearly across three months. The International Artist in Residence runs in alternate years and is for one to three month’s duration.

The programmes support a full range of professional practice, including dedicated time and space for new production, commissions for new projects and/or publications, and exhibition opportunities. Networking and exchange with local artists, curatorial staff and the public are enabled through collaboration, talks and visits to other main centres and institutions in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Example outputs from past residencies include the production of artist monographs, site-specific installations, exhibitions and lecture circuits.

International Film Curator in Residence

Our International Film Curator in Residence programme was established in 2013 and runs in alternate years for one month. With the increasing global interest in the work of Len Lye, this residency connects the international film community with the collection and archives of the experimental film pioneer Len Lye, along with other historic and contemporary New Zealand filmmakers.

The Film Curator in Residence is invited to define and curate a film project for the art museum’s film programme. The residency is managed by Paul Brobbel (Len Lye Curator) with operational support and assistance from other curatorial staff specific to the programme. It involves working with cinematic media, artists, practitioners and institutions throughout New Zealand.


Studio and workshop facilities for the programmes are provided in partnership with the Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki (WITT), with residential accommodation within walking distance to the museum and city centre. Programmes are by invitation only and supported by funding from Creative New Zealand.

Aotearoa/New Zealand and International Artists in Residence

  • Brett Graham (NZ) 2019
  • Nicolás Paris (Colombia) 2019 
  • Yuichiro Tamura (Japan) 2018
  • Sriwhana Spong (NZ/UK) 2018
  • Ruth Buchanan (Berlin/NZ) 11 Dec 2015 - 11 Mar 2016
  • Anthony McCall (UK/US) Jan 2015
  • Reuben Paterson (NZ), 2013 - 2014
  • Shilpa Gupta (India), 2011
  • Maddie Leach (NZ), 2011 - 2012
  • Allan Sekula (US), 2011 
  • Isabel and Alfredo Aquilizan (Australia), Feb - Mar 2010
  • Dane Mitchell (NZ), 4 Oct - 20 Dec 2010
  • Fiona Jack (NZ), Dec 2009 - Feb 2010
  • Jin Jiangbo (China), Jun - Jul 2009 
  • Javier Téllez (Venezuela), Jan - Mar 2009 
  • Liz Allan (NZ), Oct - Dec 2008
  • Jayce Salloum (Canada), Feb - Mar 2008
  • Francis Upritchard (NZ/UK), Dec 2007 - Mar 2008
  • Gabriel Kuri (Mexico), Nov - Dec 2006
  • David Hatcher (NZ/US), Jul - Oct 2006
  • Saskia Leek (NZ), Oct - Dec 2005
  • Lee Bul (Korea), Jun - Sep 2005
  • Ann Shelton (NZ), Dec 2004 - Feb 2005
  • Noboru Tsubaki (Japan), 2004
  • Mladen Bizumic (Serbia/NZ), Jul - Sep 2003
  • Sam Durant (US), July 2003
  • Brendon Wilkinson (NZ), Jul - Sep 2002
  • Pae White (US), Jul - Aug 2002
  • Joyce Campbell (NZ), Jul - Aug 2001
  • Peter Robinson (NZ), Jan - Feb 2001
  • Jessica Bronson (US), Oct - Dec 2000
  • Mike Stevenson (NZ/Germany) and Steven Brower (US), Mar - May 2000
  • Domenico de Clario (Italy/Australia), Nov 1998 - Jan 1999
  • Esther Leigh (NZ), Nov 1998 - Jan 1999
  • Callum Morton (Australia), Oct - Dec 1997
  • Yuk King Tan (Australia/NZ/Seoul), Oct - Dec 1997
  • Ronnie van Hout (NZ/Australia), Nov - Dec 1996
  • Kristy Gorman (NZ), Nov - Dec 1996
  • Kathy Temin (Australia), Sep - Oct 1995
  • Luise Fong (Malaysia/NZ), 1995

International Film Curator in Residence

  • Erika Balsom (UK), Aug - Sep 2017
  • Kathy Geritz (US), 2015
  • Philippe-Alain Michaud (France), 2013